Russia and Ukraine have agreed to a temporary ceasefire in two Ukrainian Cities, to allow civilians to evacuate.

The ceasefire began at 10 a.m. Moscow’s time (7 a.m. London, 2 a.m. ET) Saturday, in the cities of Mariupol and Volnovakha.

This was disclosed by the Russia’s defense ministry in the early hours of Saturday:

“From 10 am Moscow time (0700 GMT), the Russian side declares a ceasefire and the opening of humanitarian corridors to allow civilians to leave Mariupol and Volnovakha,” Russian news agencies quoted the Russian defense ministry as saying.

However, Russian Forces continues their offensive in other parts of the country and many of Ukraine’s major cities, including the capital Kyiv, remain under attack from Russian forces invading from the north, east and south.

Mykhailo Podoliak, an advisor to the Ukrainian Presidential Office who took part in negotiations with Russian officials this week, said on Twitter:

“In Mariupol and Volnovakha, evacuation humanitarian corridors are being prepared for opening, and columns of those to be evacuated are being formed. The parties temporarily ceased fire in the area of ​​corridors.”

Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky on Friday (March 4) criticized NATO’s decision to reject calls to declare a no-fly zone over Ukraine, further accusing the Organization of giving ‘green light’ for more bombings

He made the statement during a televised address on Friday, Zelensky said, “Today there was a NATO summit, a weak summit, a confused summit, a summit where it was clear that not everyone considers the battle for Europe’s freedom to be the number one goal.”

“Today, the leadership of the alliance gave the green light for further bombing of Ukrainian cities and villages, having refused to set up a no-fly zone,” he added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.